SATA appoints commisioners to draft the new Republican Constitution.

President Michael Sata has appointed a twenty Member Technical Committee to draft the new Republican Constitution.

Mr Sata directed the technical committee headed by former Chief Justice Annel Silungwe, to refer to all previous Constitutional Review Commissions.

The President emphasized that the Technical Committee review the Mung’omba Constitution Review Draft Constitution and use it as the basis for developing the new constitution.

This is according to a statement released to ZNBC news on Wednesday by State House Special Assistant for Press and Public Relations, George Chellah.

The Technical Committee will also review the Chona, Mvunga Constitutional Review Commissions as well as the 1991 Constitution of Zambia.

The Mwanakatwe Constitutional Review Commission report and draft Constitution will also be revisited.

President Sata says the Technical Committee is also expected to consult widely and take into account, submissions forwarded.

He says the committee will consult local and international experts on constitutional law and practice along with members of the public at all provincial centers.

The President says views of the people from provincial constitutional conventions will be incorporated into the new constitution while taking into account submissions of sector groups.

The Technical committee will also draft the Constitution of Zambia Bill to set the date for the new constitution and deal with issues for the effective transition into a new constitutional regime under the fourth republic.

The committee will draw up its program of work and submit it to the Secretary to the Cabinet within Seven days of its first sitting.

President has also directed the technical committee to submit the whole report to him.

Category : LATEST.
« »


3 responses to “SATA appoints commisioners to draft the new Republican Constitution.”

  1. gertrudekunda-mwape says:

    It is a formidable team of intelligent and trustworthy people that has been selected to take up this important task.20 is not a large number considering the work involved.we however need to know what will be the time frame in which the work must be completed.there should be a clearly defined time and the criteria to follow. The team have got a lot of data at hand to use,whereby time for collecting other details will be reduced.the other thing that will help enhance the completion would be the method that they will adopt to carry out the work.The other thing would be for the team to consider what made others fail? This must be addressed seriously.

  2. Rachel says:

    Why to many lawyers and cathlics… CCZ, EFZ, ICOZ and other Church Organization could have been Represented. House of Chiefs would have been represented.Rev. Matale is from CCZ where Catholic belongs. ONE ZAMBIA ONE NATION. ONE NATION ONE PEOPLE … Ba Sata fye amano tamwaba – one man band

  3. Chibwe Chanda says:

    The Technical Committee of the eminent experts:
    1. Hon. Justice Annel Silungwe, SC Former Chief Justice shall be Chairperson
    2. Dr. J.B. Sakala JB Sakala and Company shall be Vice- Chairperson
    3. Rev. Susan Matale Council of Churches
    4. Mr. Willa Mung’omba Mungo’omba Associates
    … 5. Hon. Sebastian S. Zulu, SC Minister of Justice
    6. Ms. Charity Mwansa Permanent Secretary-Lusaka Province
    7. Professor Patrick Mvunga Mvunga and Associates
    8. Chief Luchembe Northern Province
    9. Prof. Margaret Munalula University of Zambia
    10. Mr. Ernest Mwansa Mwansa Phiri and Partners
    11. Dr. Rodger Chongwe Chongwe and Associates
    12. Mr. Paulman Chungu Law Association of Zambia
    13. Mr. Simon Kabanda Citizens Forum
    14. Mr. Reuben Lifuka Transparency International-Zambia
    15. Mrs. Mwangala Zaloumis Dove Chambers
    16. Dr. Winnie Sithole-Mwenda Ministry of Justice
    17. Mrs. Thandiwe D. Oteng Ministry of Justice, who shall be the Secretary to the Committee
    18. Three Catholic Bishops
    The Technical Committee shall be supported and advised by the following draftspersons:
    Mrs. Eva Jhala Bemvi Consultants
    Mrs. Patricia D. Jere Chief Parliamentary Counsel, Ministry of Justice
    Mr. Andrew Nkunika Acting Principal Parliamentary Counsel,

Leave a Reply